In my world, pixies, witches, aliens and ghosts are all friends. Let my imagination take you somewhere amazing!

Hump Day Hook

It’s Wednesday! Time for another Hump Day Hook. Today, a group of authors post a paragraph from either a WIP or a published novel. For a list of participating authors, please visit

http://humpdayhook.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/sign-up-for-hump-day-hook-april-17th-x.html

I’ve only participated once with my recently completed Sci-Fi. Here is my Hump Day Hook for today, an excerpt from my novel The Oathbreaker’s Son available on Amazon.com or at http://www.sweetcravingspublishing.com.

 

“Zoe, it’s Mike.” The words spilled out urgently. “Maria told me about what you found at the library. I had that article and I was afraid to show it to you.”

“Why?”

“There is a lot to explain. I shouldn’t do it over the phone.

“I can’t meet you right now.”

“Zoe listen to me carefully,” Mike emphasized. “You are the only one that has ever seen him. No one else has.”

“I don’t understand—”

“And he’s listening, so I can’t explain this to you now. You have to get out of that house. Please!”

Suddenly Charles charged through the wall in a gust of wind, picking Zoe up off of her feet and slamming her to the floor. Her cell phone flew out of her hand, crashing into the corner, splintering into a mess of plastic and glass.

Charles hovered over her. “He is trying to make you hate me the way Emma does.”

With her breath stripped from her lungs, she argued through quick gasps for air. “No…he doesn’t…understand.”

He leaned over her. “You are the one Miss Zoe Striking. I need you to help me free my son from the evil.” He spoke softly, but his demeanor was far from gentle.

Zoe lay shivering underneath him yet oddly, she felt sorry for him. Her conscious mind screamed at her to run, but he had claimed an important piece of her heart, anchoring her to the spot. She felt herself melting in his cold and icy embrace. She lay quietly on the floor under the cold mist of a century old ghost, until she fell asleep.

 

Enjoy your Wednesday and I hope you enjoyed my Hump Day Hook!

Robyn

9 responses

  1. Jessica Subject

    A great hook! So much intrigue. 🙂

    April 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm

  2. Wow, the ghost man sounds really scary! How can she fall asleep?

    April 17, 2013 at 2:31 pm

  3. Hee, hee… It’s entirely about the relationship they built throughout the story Sabrina.

    April 17, 2013 at 2:59 pm

  4. Intriguing hook! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    April 17, 2013 at 5:31 pm

  5. Oh, a century old ghost? I didn’t see that one coming. I wonder if she’ll help him. Nice hook!

    April 18, 2013 at 1:25 am

  6. The ghost guy is scary. I wouldn’t be able to sleep.

    April 18, 2013 at 1:41 am

  7. A ghost? Wow. Intriguing! Nice hook!

    April 18, 2013 at 2:32 am

  8. Oooh, I love a ghost in a romance.

    April 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm

  9. Catherine

    I could definitely love a beast. The old Beauty & the Beast series was one of my favorites (not so much the new one, though). And I could probably fall for a ghost, too…if I believed in them.

    April 27, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

